I have a charge on my account, but I haven't taken a ride. What is this?

When you sign up for Uber or occasionally thereafter, a small pre-authorization charge is made on your credit or debit card for a specific amount used to ensure your card is valid before you ride. We void that charge immediately when it's made so you are never actually charged. Pre-authorization is normally valid for 1-5 days on debit cards, while credit card pre-authorization periods can be longer and vary between issuing banks.

Note that while a pre-authorization entry may appear on your statement, the value will never actually be deducted from your account.

We employ the practice of pre-authorizing users’ cards to better protect our users against potential fraud that may result from unauthorized payment card usage. If you would like to confirm that a specific item on your statement is a pre-authorization, you can contact your bank directly.

Was this article helpful?
27 out of 108 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

 

 

 

 

 

 

Powered by Zendesk